top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJack Diehm

Roman Memories

Today I took a picture of Piazza Navona. I just remember starting the walking tour and talking about a pretty cool “modern” church that is right outside of our ACCENT classroom center. Then we walked through the small streets of Rome. Cobblestone roads that seem to always lead to a new place. Then about 20 minutes into the tour we emerge from the tight buildings and walk out onto the Piazza Navona. It was unbelievable. There was the incredible church on the right, but then the monument and fountain in the middle. All sculpted to perfection. The sky was pure blue with no clouds in sight. The water in the fountain was equally as blue and clear. People were scattered throughout the entire space taking it all in. It made me feel alive honestly. All I can remember for sure is that the colors of the scene in front of me made me feel happier. They made me feel excited for what is ahead while we are in this country. It was the first real landmark I had seen in Rome so it made it even more of a special moment. Our tour guide told us incredible stories about the construction of the scene and the iconic figures that influenced the area. Overall I took a lot of pictures of Piazza Navona because I was so blown away with the way the colors and architecture flowed together.



Part 2

After reviewing the photo itself, my memory was good but not exceptional. I forgot to mention that great creamy orange color on the entire right side of the Piazza Navona. Also the granite on the fountain is a really awesome pink shade. Overall, my memory captured the rest of the incredible scene. The water is magnificent and the sky does not have a single cloud in sight. We didn’t eat at the restaurants on the right, but they were filled with people who all wanted to observe this historic spot while eating their Italian lunches.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page