top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJack Diehm

Judo Champion, Former Olympian Anne-Sophie Mondiere

When I imagine going to the Olympics to represent the United States in a non bigtime sport, I would feel less pressure than I would if I played a bigger sport. Judo is definitely on the smaller side. Compared to sports like basketball, track and field, and swimming in the summer are the ones on the big stage. However, the pressure would still be monumental. If I were to work my whole life to get to that point, coming away with no medal would be devastating to my friends, family and myself. There’s no doubt that I should still be proud of myself for getting to the Olympics. But as a competitor, losing is never okay. So in a way I can see how it’s disappointing to athletes to not medal in the Olympics. There is such a small amount of people on the planet that can say they got to represent their country in the Olympics. It’s so impressive and a feat that is among the best in the world. So in that sense, there is absolutely no part of an Olympic athlete that could ever be labeled a “failure”. And certainly our guest speaker today, Anne-Sophie Mondiere is one of those people that is impressive and rare. Definitely not a failure.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page