top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJack Diehm

A Moveable Feast


In A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway, his life as a writer in Paris, France makes me reflect on my life as a writer in today’s society. In the daily life of a college student, the honest truth is that there is a lot of free time. There’s a lot of time to think about your path and your purpose not only as a journalist, but a person as well. I feel like in that sense, I am similar to Hemingway. He was always finding himself in a blank state, unable to find something passionate to write about. What I’ve learned as a writer is that creating valuable pieces is driven by passion. The world renown authors were all successful because their literature was written with emotion. In A Moveable Feast, it’s clear Hemingway was going through a lot internally.

In Paris, I will definitely be looking forward to being in a new place. I currently live in a small suburb in Pittsburgh, PA and there isn’t much to do. Even when Hemingway seemed a little “bored” in Paris, it was obvious that the art and culture there kept his mind flowing. I am looking forward to getting anywhere close to that feeling. Also I am hopeful that the weather in Paris will be much better than the weather he describes in his book.

Eurosport is a place at the top of my bucket list. I am so excited to see a place where all kinds of sports journalism jobs are represented. I am still in the stage where I’m not sure specifically what I want to do in sports journalism. My job at the Big Ten Network has helped me find another avenue in which I am passionate about. The production side of sports and the broadcasting of an event for the world to see is intriguing to me. Eurosport will definitely help me see all the different things I can do in this field.

My life through the prism of A Moveable Feast looks slightly positive. It’s clear through research that Hemingway revised and published this book during a time of intense mental health issues. Although his experiences trump mine, I feel that my trip to Paris will be full of good and life changing adventures and I hope to one day tell my children and grandchildren about “the first time I went to Europe”.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page